Scunthorpe Music Festival 2016

This year has been exceptional for our talented musicians.  For the first time, the choirs achieved distinctions and many trophies were brought back to the academy.  

Piano repertoire 13 to 16 years:  1st James Taylor awarded the Brown Cup, Grade 2 voice exam class:  1st Lucy Robinson, Violin Solo 11-14 years: 1st James Taylor awarded the Heslam Trophy, 2nd Jacob Smith, Grade 6 string exam class: 1st Jacob Smith, Violin Duet- open: 1st James Taylor/Jacob Smith, Grade 5 piano exam class: 1st Kacie Rickells, Grade 3 jazz piano exam class: 1st Kacie Rickells, Brass Solo 11-15 years: 1st Sid Brown awarded the Goodacre Cup, 2nd Callum Law, Grade 1 brass exam class: 1st Austin Champ, Grade 2 brass exam class: 1st Joshua Carn, 2nd = Rio Rawlings/ Chris Pearson, 3rd Jessica Peers, Grade 3 brass exam class: 1st Lucy Robinson, 2nd Callum Law, Grade 4 brass exam class: 1st Mary Middlewood, Grade 5 brass exam class: 1st Sid Brown, Grade 6 brass exam class: 1st Eleanor Mastin, Grade 2 woodwind exam class: 2nd Chris Pearson, Grade 3 woodwind exam class: 1st Eve Crawforth, Grade 5 woodwind exam class: 1st James Taylor, 3rd=  Orla Welfare/Richard Lowe, Part song for School Choir: 1st Vale Senior Choir awarded the Caldicott Shield, Part Song for Boys: 1st Vale Lads Choir awarded The Frodingham Old Boys Shield, Taiko Drumming: 1st Vale Senior Taiko Team, Samba Band: 1st Vale Samba Band, School Brass Band: 1st Vale Brass Band awarded the Billy Butlin Trophy, School Wind Band: 1st Vale Wind band awarded the Festival Trophy, School String Ensemble: 1st Vale strings, Woodwind and brass ensemble open: 1st Vale Chamber ensemble, Saxophone solo 11-15years: 1st Daniel Smith, Woodwind solo 11-15 years: 1st Richard Lowe awarded the Elsam Trophy, 2nd James Taylor, 3rd Amy Burman, Acoustic Pop Ballad: 1st Bethany Gibson, Woodwind Solo 15-18 years, 1st Oliver Charles-Lee, Saxophone Solo 15-18 years: 1st Oliver Charles-Lee.


The Music Trophy and bursary for the most promising musician of the week

James Taylor

Bursary for the Most promising Instrumentalist of the week

Oliver Charles-Lee

Alf Whitby Memorial trophy for the most promising brass player

Eleanor Mastin/Lucy Robinson